Danish cultural policy

The Ministry of Culture is responsible for initiatives involving support to creative arts, cultural heritage, archives, libraries, museums and higher education in the areas of art, music, film, theatre and dancing. The ministry is also responsible for copyright, broadcasting, sports and international cultural cooperation.

The Ministry of Culture is comprised of a central division, the Agency for Culture and Palaces and a number of cultural institutions:

Read more about the Agency for Culture and Palaces

See list of national cultural institutions (in danish)


Cultural institutions enjoy considerable freedom and independence in relation to the ministry. This liberty is guaranteed by years of tradition, by law and by financial appropriations.

Read more about independence and the arm's-length principle

Dialogboksen begynder her. Du kan lukke boksen ved at trykke Accepter cookies knappen eller Enter. Knappen er det sidste element i boksen.

We want to provide our users with a simple and user-friendly website

To make sure that the content is relevant and easy to navigate, we make use of cookies. Cookies provide us with important information about how the site is used, which pages are viewed most often, how long our users stay at the site, and so on.

(dialogboks slutter)